About Us
National Science Museum Thailand (NSM)’s Background
According to Her Majesty Queen Sirikit’s leadership in integrating science, technology, Thai art and culture to develop and improve careers and quality of life of the Thai people. In August 12, 1992, Ministry of Science and Technology was assigned from the Thai government to establish the National Science Museum Thailand or NSM to be in honour of the Fifth Anniversary of HM Queen Sirikit’s Birthday.
In the Royal Decree of Establishing the National Science Museum Thailand (January 30, 1995), NSM is established as a state enterprise under Ministry of Science and Technology to take responsible for development and management of science museums and learning centers comprising: Science Museum, Natural History Museum, Information Technology Museum and Rama IX Museum. Those museums are located in Technopolis, Klong 5, Klong Luang District, Pathumthani Province. In addition, there are 3 learning centers called NSM Science Square located at The Street Ratchada in Bangkok, Princess Sirindhorn AstroPark, NARIT in Chiang Mai, and Suranaree University in Nakhon Ratchasima to respond the needs of urban areas.